24 hour Notice to Enter
Although your lease agreement may already provide the terms and conditions in which the landlord may enter the premises, it is still essential that the owner or agent be protected by serving the tenant with a Notice of Intent to Enter Premises before going into the rental unit.
There are many reasons a landord may need to enter a rental property. Some of those reasons may be:
Showing to prospects for re-rental or sale
Repairs & Maintenance
Pest Control Service
Insurance Company Inspection
Emergency - danger to life & property
The tenant does not need to be present, although you are giving notice that if the locks have been changed the tenant will be responsible for the cost of a locksmith. More importantly, the landlord is protected from being accused of unauthorized entry.
--- What Forms You Get ---
1. Editable PDF form used to provide a 24 hour notice of entry to a rental property.
-- Customization ---
Need your forms customized? We can add custom headers, or add fields to meet your specific needs. Get In Touch with us for a customization quote.
-- Form Ideas --
We can possibly help with other forms that you need. Get In touch with us for a customized quote.
-- Documents --
- This is an Editable PDF Form
- You will need Adobe Reader. Don't worry it is completely free! Just go to google and search Free Adobe Reader.
- The "PRINT", "SAVE", and "CLEAR" buttons do not print.
- The blue boxes around the form field do not print either.
- While you can edit some fields, most are secured to protect my work.
- Colors may vary slightly depending on monitor and printer.
- Designed for a regular paper size.
-- Usage Policy --
We ask you respect our hard work and not share this with any other entity. You are free, of course, to freely use the PDF form as often as needed for yourself. Make sure to watch for any legal changes, as forms may expire and be void if laws are changed.
-- Digital Downloads --
This is a digital download. Once you purchase the rental application, you will receive an e-mail containing information on how to receive your purchase. Please, double check that your e-mail is correct to ensure prompt delivery. We are not responsible for a purchase that is sent to an un deliverable e-mail address.
--Refund Policy --
Due to the nature of digital downloads, refunds can not be given.
-- Legal Notice --
I am not a lawyer or a tax specialist! These forms are generic and was made to help DIY landlords. We recommend you to have a lawyer review the documents for your review of Federsal and State Laws. This form is "AS IS". We ask that you do not use forms "AS IS". Read them carefully, and change to meet your own needs. If you are unsure of how to fill out forms or the laws for your state contact a lawyer or an aid.
Thank you for understanding we cannot offer legal advice!
Most states have a required notice period regarding a landlord’s right to enter the rental premises.
State / Required Notice Time
Alabama 48 hours unless emergency
Alaska 24 hours unless emergency
Arizona 48 hours or 14 days for repairs
Arkansas Landlord must give "reasonable" notice to enter
California 24 hours unless emergency
Colorado 24 hours unless emergency
Connecticut As agreed in lease - No state requirement
Delaware 48 hours unless emergency
Florida 12 hours unless emergency
Georgia 24 hours unless emergency
Hawaii 48 hours unless emergency or for reasonable purposes
Idaho 24 hours unless emergency
Illinois 24 hours unless emergency
Indiana As agreed in lease - No state requirement
Iowa 24 hours unless emergency
Kansas As agreed in lease - unless emergency
Kentucky 48 hours unless emergency
Louisiana 24 hours unless emergency
Maine 24 hours unless emergency
Maryland 24 hours unless emergency
Massachusetts 24 hours unless emergency or during the last mo. of tenancy
Michigan 24 hours unless emergency
Minnesota 24 hours unless emergency
Mississippi 24 hours unless emergency
Missouri 24 hours unless emergency
Montana 24 hours unless emergency
Nebraska 24 hours unless emergency
Nevada 24 hours unless emergency
New Hampshire As agreed in lease - No state requirement
New Jersey 24 hours unless emergency
New Mexico 24 hours unless emergency
New York 24 hours unless emergency or as agreed in lease
North Carolina 24 hours unless emergency
North Dakota 24 hours unless emergency
Ohio 24 hours unless emergency
Oklahoma 24 hours unless emergency
Oregon 24 hours unless emergency
Pennsylvania 24 hours unless emergency
Rhode Island 48 hours unless emergency
South Carolina 24 hours unless emergency
South Dakota 24 hours unless emergency
Tennessee As agreed in lease - unless emergency
Texas 24 hours unless emergency
Utah As agreed in lease - No state requirement
Vermont 48 hours unless emergency
Virginia 24 hours unless emergency
Washington 48 hours unless emergency
Washington DC 24 hours unless emergency
West Virginia 24 hours unless emergency
Wisconsin Reasonable advanced notice unless emergency
Wyoming 24 hours unless emergency
Legal Disclaimer: The Landlord's Almanac is not engaged in rendering legal advice. Although our material is believed to be accurate, It is recommend that you seek legal advice before using any of the material offered on this web site, and makes no guarantee on the effectiveness, compliance with local laws or success of any of the materials.