Moderators Kassandra RPM Alaska Posted September 18, 2019 Moderators Share Posted September 18, 2019 Alaska Landlord-Tenant Laws Below is a summary and links to the state laws applicable to rental properties. Resources were used to try and obtain the most current and accurate information, however, Federal, State, and Local laws change quickly and this resources can become out of date. If you are aware of an update, please send us a message. Links: Uniform Residential Landlord Tenant Act (Statues) Summary Packet of the Landlord Tenant Act (Not the law- just a summary) Alaska Court System Alaska Real Estate Commission Department of Law - Consumer Protection Alaska Landlord Printed Statutes- 12/08V Alaska Fair Housing Rules & Accomodation SB63 Alaska Law about Smoking Civil ActionsUsury Laws regarding interest rates How to serve a summons packet. Eviction BookletSmall Claims Handbook Lease, Rent, & Fees Due Date: Based on the written lease. If not written, it will on or before the 1st. Grace Period: Based on the written lease. Late Fee: Based on the late fee listed on the lease. Fees: Nothing spelled out in LTA There are case laws that says the fee must be reasonable in amount to the landlord's costs and can't be punative or a profit margin for landlords. Security Deposit Security Deposit Limits: Two Months Rent, unless rent exceeds $2,000 per month. Landlord may ask for an additional month's rent as deposits for a pet that is not a service animal, but may use it only to remedy pet damage. Deadline to Return Deposit: 14 Days if the tenant gives proper notice to terminate tenancy; 30 days if the tenant does not give property notice or if landlord has deducted amounts needed to remedy damage caused by tenant's failure to maintain the property. Bank Account All landlords must keep the deposit in a trust account. Carpet Cleaning If the landlord professionally carpet cleaned prior to tenant moving in and can provide proper reciepts, then they can expect the tenant to do the same upon moving out. Pet Deposit Yes, there are rules regarding this topic. Deposit is seperate from the lease deposit. Security Deposit Transmittal Security Deposit Transmittals are required. It is recomended to certify mail proof this was completed on time. Failure to comply could cost double damages of the amount that was imporperly withheld. Notices: To Enter: 24 hours unless emergency Notice to cure (Lease Violation): 10 Day Notice To end a lease: 30 day notice at end of a term; term can be a lease term or month-to-month Termination of tenancy with 24 hour notice: Yes, but damage must be proven to be over $400 and the act was delibert and a thret to the rental dwealling. Termination of tenancy for non-payment of utility: 5 Day Notice. Termination of tenancy for non-payment of rent: 7 Day Notice Disclamer: This article is NOT intended to be legal advice. We are not lawyers and this is not ment to be understood as advice for your situation. We always recomend you always contact a lawyer with your situation to obtain the best advice to your situation. Last Updated: 09/18/2019 View full record Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.